Gousto – Korean beef bulgogi

gousto korean beef bulgogi card

Recipe 2 from my recipe box – #1 was here.

gousto korean beef bulgogi ingredients

This is a great recipe for me, as the storecupboard ingredients are all things that I have. Basmati rice – yep (although I usually have brown basmatic), soy sauce and sesame oil – yep (I would put these in nearly everything if I could), garlic and ginger – yep (and I bet you could use the lazy kind in a jar without any problems) and the fresh ingredients are easily available even in just a local/express/little/metro supermarket.

gousto korean beef bulgogi recipe

Exact measurements are given for the amount of water to use with the rice. People go on about making “perfect rice” and how difficult it is. In most situations I just treat rice like pasta and it is FINE. Boil it in lots of water, drain off the excess. The absorption method is good if you can be bothered but for just normal rice like this I don’t think it matters, If we had sticky rice (and I think this recipe would be great with sticky rice) it might be more important.

There’s more “mushing about with hands”, as there was with the meatballs, but this time there’s a bit of chopping.grating to do. Not a lot though.

Frying the beef, there was a lot of liquid in my pan and I felt that it didn’t need the extra oil for frying, and that maybe I could have left some of the soy sauce out of the mixture for pouring on top later. After 4 minutes the beef was still sitting in liquid, and it went from “wet” to “kinda burnt underneath” very quickly. I have a lovely new nonstick pan that I highly recommend for this kind of situation

korean beef bulgogi result

Tasty. Apple in the beef makes it nice and moist. If I were doing this again I think I would:

  • Use sticky rice
  • Use less soy sauce in the meat mixture and have some on the side
  • Pay attention to the meat – don’t think because it’s wet right now that you can look at something else for a minute
  • Add chilli (because I love chilli)

chilli in window

Here’s a happy chilli in my window

Leave a Reply

