Simply Nigella Cuban Black Beans

Simply Nigella – not diet food, not clean eating (ghastly concept), but food that “makes you feel good”.

OK, I can buy into that.

nigella cuban black beans

The other reason I was keen to try this is that not many of the mainstream supermarkets (and especially not the smaller local ones) have cooked black beans, I have to go to either a BIG Sainsbury’s or one of the ethnic grocers to find them.

Take a 500g bag of dried black beans, put into slow cooker with:

  • 1 litre of water (didn’t sound like enough, was fine)
  • 2 chopped onions (I used red, that’s what I had)
  • 6 cloves chopped garlic
  • 2 chopped red peppers (I had one red one orange, and Nigella admits that the more authentic would be green, but I agree with her that green are rubbish)
  • 1 chopped fresh red chilli ( I used about 3, but small ones, from my plant)
  • 2 x 15 ml tablespoons cumin seeds (I used “all that was left in my jar” of ground cumin)
  • 2 bay leaves (didn’t have any, in fact I have never had any except when I had a bay tree in my garden)

blac beans in slow cooker nigella

It doesn’t look that pretty, but neither does Nigella’s.

Serving suggestions include “with brown rice” (I added some nearly-dead avocado and sour cream)

black beans with brown rice

Or “scooped up with tortilla chips”

black bean nachos

The beans themselves are FINE, but not very exciting.

They do make fantastic nachos, but so would any black beans really. I first had nachos made with black beans in San Diego and it always reminds me of being in a bar by a beach.

Leave a Reply

