2015 Book Challenge #20 – The Bell Jar

First post of the 2015 book challenge is here

Things I knew about The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath before reading it

  1. It’s by Sylvia Plath
  2. If you want to fake someone’s suicide,  put a copy of this book on their bedside table with bits underlined
  3. She was married to Ted Hughes
  4. She killed herself (head in oven?)
  5. She left out bread and jam for the kids when she killed herself
  6. Gwyneth Paltrow cycled an old-fashioned bike near the library here I was revising while pretending to be Sylvia Plath

Things I did not know

  1. Where/when it was set
  2. Anything about what happens
  3. Whether the character actually does kill herself

I enjoyed this more than I expected to. It is quite describey, and Plath uses a lot of adjective phrases. I’m not sure of the precise term for them, but the first page alone has “google-eyed” and “country-wet” and “mirage-grey”. Too many of these drive me mad (see Suite Francaise and the pre-war parts of Birdsong) but in this case it added a tangible feel to the descriptions without making me impatient for action.

I would have happily read some more of the story of a college-aged girl in the 50s (?) who has a summer internship on a magazine, even without the rest.

I liked that there was no attempt to explain WHY she felt as she did. She just did. That’s what mental illness is like sometimes. It’s not always caused by a childhood trauma. It’s sometimes just how things are.

Leave a Reply

