Live Below The Line 2015 – shopping

 

 

£5 shopping

£5 shopping

Here’s my shopping for the £5-for-5-days Live Below The Line Challenge. From Sunday to Thursday I’ll be eating and drinking on only £5 worth of food, to raise money for ActionAid.

If you feel like sponsoring me you can do so here. Just one “bought sandwich” worth would make a big difference!.

ReceiptTher’s a whole 14p left – let me know if you can think of anything I can do with it!

The supermarket did not have any scales near the loose fruit and veg, so I icked the 4 smallest bananas I could find and hoped they would come within budget.

You might notice that one of the few things that does not say “Basics” on the receipt is the mixed veg.

mixed veg label

Here’s the empty freezer where the basics mixed veg would have been. Maybe Live Below The Line is very popular in my area?

So I ended up spending and extra 40p on the non-basics mixed veg, which has a slightly different mix (sweetcorn instead of cauliflower) but is basically 1 1/2x the price for the same thing.

This is annoying because

  1. I wanted to send that 40p on a bar of basics chocolate (for morale)
  2. I probably could have found a better way to spend £1.20 on veg (for 80p this was definitely the best choice), but I was hungry and didn’t have time to work it all out.

So now I have a lot of rice, some bread that I have been assured will go mouldy within minutes, and no caffeine or sugar. Wish me luck!

7 thoughts on “Live Below The Line 2015 – shopping

  1. Pingback: Live Below The Line 2015 – day 1 | screenfulofwords

  2. Pingback: Live Below The Line 2015 – Day 2 | screenfulofwords

  3. Pingback: Live Below The Line Day 3 | screenfulofwords

  4. Pingback: Live Below The Line 2015 – Day 4 | screenfulofwords

  5. Pingback: Live Below The Line 2015 – Day 5 | screenfulofwords

  6. Pingback: I made chapatis and it was easy | screenfulofwords

  7. Pingback: Lunchbox noodle soup | screenfulofwords

Leave a Reply

