2015 book challenge – #10A – a failure

First post of the 2015 book challenge is here

This is not a review of a book called ” a failure”. It is a review of my failure to read a book. I don’t consider it to be a #epicfail or any other such nonsense, because actively choosing NOT to read a book can be a positive achievement, but it is a little sad that a book chosen for this challenge did not get read.

This book was John Dies At The End by David Wong.

David Wong writes for Cracked, a website you may think is just full of crude-joke-filled listicles, but which often has some insightful and clever pieces. John Cheese‘s work in particular is worth paing attention to (if sometimes a little depressng).

David Wong often writes articles that I enjoy reading. At the end, the blurby linky bit invariably mentions that he’s written a book. So I bought it, and started to read it. I am 29% through according to my Kindle, and I do not intend to read any further. I did not enjoy it. Many unpleasant things are happening, and they are happening to people about whm I do not care one jot. So I will leave them to it. At nearly 1/3 of the way through I need to either care about the characters or want to understand more about what’s going on in order to get through this level of unpleasantness, and neither of those is the case.

I’m going to go re-read Wolf Hall now (I very much enjoyed the TV series) as I think I’ll find it relaxing. I have 9 books read already on the challenge, so if I don’t read any more before the end of April I’m still one book up on my target.

Leave a Reply

