Hello Fresh recipe – chicken with mushroom sauce

You may have noticed that I quite like to cook. I’m not really the target audience for an organisation like Hello Fresh, whose MO is to deliver precisely-portioned ingredients and instructions for people who don’t want to buy a bunch of coriander and see half of it go slimy.

I am quite in favour of this sort of thing actually – just because I find something easy and enjoyable doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate that others may find it dull or difficult or scary (that’s how I feel about driving after all, and yet Top Gear still exists). I suspect 3 main target markets exist:

1 – Lazy people
2 – People who cook rarely and so won’t ever use up a whole bunch of coriander or a whole bag of potatoes
3 – People who are nervous about cooking new things and find it helpful to be shown exactly what is meant when a recipe book says “a thumb-sized piece of ginger” or similar

Technically I fall into #2, since I’m mostly cooking for one these days, but I was only really interested when a colleague had a voucher thingy for me to get my first box for £1. I do love a bargain.

The first recipe I cooked from the box was a chicken and mushroom thing.

The

Here are the ingredients - including ONE clove of garlic

Here are the ingredients – including ONE clove of garlic

Everything is measured out for you, and you have only exactly the “right” amount. I was determined to approach this as if I did not know what I was doing and follow the instructions completely, or else I’d be “cheating” on the Hello Fresh experience.

You can probably zoom in and read the whole recipe if you like

You can probably zoom in and read the whole recipe if you like

I made notes as I went, so here are a few thoughts on the process.

Pluses:

  • Good sized chicken breasts
  • Nice note on the chicken breast packaging that basically said “there might be a slightly odd smell for a few seconds when you open this, don’t panic”
  • Telling you not to wash up the pan you fried the chicken in, sensible!
  • Useful to tell you to properly BOIL the rice because it’s brown rice and needs boiling harshly

Minuses:

  • Does expect you to have oil and salt (fine in itself) but specifies olive oil without telling you that it would actually be 99% fine if you used sunflower oil or vegetable oi, or any oil at a really
  • Putting the fried chicken straight onto the baking tray could stick if your tray was not non-stick
  • How do I tell if my mushrooms have gone soft?
  • No mention of draining the rice at all – I would have hoped for a tip on how to do it well, but you get to the end of the recipe and it just says “serve with the rice”

The recipe was tasty, of a good size, and satisfying. If I were using my own judgement I might have sightly less rice (175g of dry brown rice for 2 is on the larger side), more mushrooms, and more creme fraiche in less stock to make a thicker sauce. The thyme was very nice, and the addition of the little sachet of mustard to the sauce didn’t make it “taste of mustard”, it just tasted nice.

This is their picture of the result

This is their picture of the result

This is MY picture of the real-life result

This is MY picture of the real-life result

One thought on “Hello Fresh recipe – chicken with mushroom sauce

  1. Pingback: Hello Fresh – Smokey Burritos | screenfulofwords

Leave a Reply

