Trying out the spiralizing fad – courgette “spaghetti”

“Spiralizing” seems to be a word now. As far as I can tell it doesn’t involve any spirals at all, but turning vegetables into long thin strings resembling spaghetti, then mashing up the name of the vegetable with “getti” on the end.

I love a kitchen gadget, but I don’t have a lot of spare space, so I’ve bought myself a julienne peeler. I’m not sure that I’m entirely convinced by low-carb, but I do need to find ways to con myself into eating more vegetables (coming up sometime – cauliflower rice!).

I picked this one because I could get next-day delivery. It is SHARP.

I picked this one because I could get next-day delivery. It is SHARP.

 

 

Here’s a picture of shaving the courgette.

This is actually pretty fun

This is actually pretty fun

I fried bacon and mushrooms and added creme fraiche to make a creamy sauce

This doesn't look like much but it is lovely.

This doesn’t look like much but it is lovely.

One courgette made *this much* courgetti strings. I cheated and ate half courgette half “real pasta”, but I’d guess that one medium courgette would be about the right amount for one person.

Pile of courgetti

Pile of courgetti

I didn’t cook the courgette at all, just stirred it into the hot sauce in the pan.

Use a bigger frying pan than you think

Use a bigger frying pan than you think

And ta-dah! Dinner.

If there's a way to make a bowl of pasta look exciting, I can't be bothered to do it

If there’s a way to make a bowl of pasta look exciting, I can’t be bothered to do it

Leave a Reply

