2015 book challenge – #1 – I Am Malala

The problem with setting a goal, is that you get focused on achieving that goal.

That sounds silly, but hear me out.

You get focused on achieving the measurable accomplishment of that goal, without thinking about why you set the goal in the first place.

In 2013 I set myself a 50 book challenge – read at least 50 books that I had not read before (I had a long commute, which helps). However, I found myself reading books that were short or easy, particularly when it came to persisting with a series, because I knew it would help me to get my total up.

This year I have challenged myself to read at least 24 books (2 per month) that I probably wouldn’t have read otherwise, and that have been specifically recommended.  I can also read other books in between, but the aim here is for quality, not quantity.

Boo #1 is I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai – more commonly known as “the girl who got shot by the Taliban”.

The book takes us through the recent history of her area of Pakistan, as it affects and is seen by her immediate family. It’s not clear how much she was fully aware of at the time and how much is reconstructed through conversations with her father (a remarkable man in himself) but it is clear that Malala has always been treated as and considered to be wise and understanding beyond her years.

I would have liked more personal comments from Malala herself, more of the “pink is my favourite colour” and “I quarrelled with my friend”, but I can see why she would prefer to be reserved with her private life, when so much of her life has become public.

Recommended as history and politics more than biography, but I have no doubt that there will be plenty to put into a future second volume.

25 thoughts on “2015 book challenge – #1 – I Am Malala

  1. Pingback: 2015 book challenge – #2 – The Enchanted April | screenfulofwords

  2. Pingback: 2015 book challenge – #3 – Sweet Tooth | screenfulofwords

  3. Pingback: 2015 book challenge – #4 – Freeze My Margarita | screenfulofwords

  4. Pingback: 2015 book challenge – #5 – The Frog Prince | screenfulofwords

  5. Pingback: 2015 book challenge – #6 – The Goldfinch | screenfulofwords

  6. Pingback: 2015 book challenge – #7 – Suite Francaise | screenfulofwords

  7. Pingback: 2015 book challenge – #8 – how to be a heroine | screenfulofwords

  8. Pingback: 2015 book challenge – #9 – A Million Years In A Day | screenfulofwords

  9. Pingback: 2015 book challenge – #10A – a failure | screenfulofwords

  10. Pingback: 2015 book challege – #10B – Far From The Madding Crowd | screenfulofwords

  11. Pingback: 2015 Book Challenge – 11 – Whose Body? | screenfulofwords

  12. Pingback: 2015 Book Challenge – 12 – Birdsong | screenfulofwords

  13. Pingback: 2015 Book Challenge – 13 – The Girl On The Train | screenfulofwords

  14. Pingback: 2015 Book Challenge – #14 – The Children of Men | screenfulofwords

  15. Pingback: 2015 Book Challenge – #15 – The Pillars of the Earth | screenfulofwords

  16. Pingback: 2015 Book Challenge – #16 – My Family and Other Animals | screenfulofwords

  17. Pingback: 2015 Book Challenge – #17 – Station Eleven | screenfulofwords

  18. Pingback: 2015 Book Challenge – #18 – The Versions of Us | screenfulofwords

  19. Pingback: 2015 Book Challenge – #19 – Her Smoke Rose Up Forever | screenfulofwords

  20. Pingback: 2015 Book Challenge #20 – The Bell Jar | screenfulofwords

  21. Pingback: 2015 Book Challenge – #21 – The End of Mr Y | screenfulofwords

  22. Pingback: 2015 Book Challenge – #22 – The Bone Clocks | screenfulofwords

  23. Pingback: 2015 Book Challenge – #23 – Gone With The Wind | screenfulofwords

  24. Pingback: 2015 Book Challenge – #24 – The Martian | screenfulofwords

  25. Pingback: Bronte book challenge | screenfulofwords

Leave a Reply

