Experiences not objects – Harry Potter Studio

I am definitely Ravenclaw - I am a higher percentile for "clever" than I am for "brave" or "kind" or "ambitious"

I am definitely Ravenclaw – I am a higher percentile for “clever” than I am for “brave” or “kind” or “ambitious”

I bought this experience-not-object as a present for a friend’s birthday, and it was totally a present for her, not a present for me, oh no definitely not.

This particular friend had the Harry Potter theme tune as her ringtone when we were in University, so I thought I was pretty safe. On a side not – polyphonic ringtones. Remember those? And remember being able to program ringtones by typing in a3, b6, etc?

/nostalgia

Right. Harry Potter Studio Tour thingy. Not “Harry Potter World”, that’s in Florida. We are not children (as you might have noticed). Neither were most of the people visiting. One couple had brought a long a baby and a three year old, which I thought was slightly optimistic, but I hear you’ve got to indoctrinate them young.

So you either want to hear if it’s good, or you want to know if I have any hilarious anecdotes. It is good if

  1. You really like Harry Potter (I do)
  2. or you find the process of filmmaking really interesting (I do – I loveĀ reading TV Tropes and thinking about storytelling concepts)

It is NOT a Harry Potter theme park. No rides, no attempt to make you think that it is “real”, it’s all about the creation process.

My favourite part was slightly unexpected and so I don’t want to tell you what it is because it’s so lovely.

My next-favourite parts included:

Outfits in various stages of distressed-ness for filming asynchronous parts of the battle of Hogwarts

Outfits in various stages of distressed-ness for filming asynchronous parts of the battle of Hogwarts

Tiny little beds (fine sixe for 11 year olds, not so much for over-6-foot Neville) and socks hanging on the boiler

Tiny little beds (fine size for 11 year olds, not so much for over-6-foot Neville) and socks hanging on the boiler

All of the ingredients! I love a historic pharmacy, and the Potions classroom is just as good.

All of the ingredients! I love a historic pharmacy, and the Potions classroom is just as good.

I didn’t take a photo but I also loved the pictures of the animal actors (is that a ridiculous thing to say? The trained animals). The idea of having one ginger cat who was good at chasing things and one who just wanted to lie around (“the perfect cat for holding”) is genius. Crookshanks was a very ugly cat though!

2 thoughts on “Experiences not objects – Harry Potter Studio

Leave a Reply

