Two Christmas Cocktails

There’s nothing actually Christmassy about these – you could drink them any time. In theory this is one for the beginning of the day and one for the end.

Breakfast martini

  • 2 shots vodka
  • 1 shot cointreau
  • 1/2 shot lemon juice
  • 1 dessert spoon marmalade

I got a hamper from work with marmalade in. I don’t eat marmalade. But I can drink it.

This comes out quite boozy and rather sharp/bitter -which I like. I do like a drink at “breakfast” (as long as it’s a relaxed late breakfast) but I prefer something a bit longer – a Buck’s Fizz (in the US they call these a “mimosa”, which sounds fancier) or a Bloody Mary. This is very tasty but I haven’t quite worked out where it fits.

Breakfast martiniEspresso martini

  • 2 shots espresso (ideally cold but it doesn’t matter)
  • 2 shots vodka
  • 1 shot Kahlua (I only had Tia Maria, that’ll do)

This is the opposite of the breakfast martini – it’s a good after-dinner drink. I was very pleased at getting the “crema” on top. I saw someone put a little bit of Baileys in too once, not mixed in (that would ruin the look) but poured down the twiddly stem of one of those long spoons, to pool at the bottom of the glass.

Espresso martini

 

Leave a Reply

