Jamaican spiced trout

I bought some trout. I don’t normally like fish that much. I was trying to liven up my “3 for £10” meat/fish purchases. The trout then sat in my freezer for a while, until I happened upon this post from Homemade With Mess.

Jamaican spiced sounds perfect. I got the fish out of the freezer and marinated it while it defrosted in mint (from garden), thyme (from garden) coriander (from freezer), chilli (from windowsill – one called Jamaican Yellow which is a bit like Scotch Bonnet), allspice, Worcestershire sauce and lots of lime juice.

MarinaTing - in a marinaDe - is that right?

MarinaTing – in a marinaDe – is that right?

I also had some sweet potatoes, so I decided to make wedges with these with smoked paprika and celery salt.

Minted pea yoghurt sounded lovely, but I didn’t have many peas, so I cooked the end of a bag of frozen broad beans, the end of a bag of frozen peas, cooled them and mixed them with minty yoghurt.

I was a bit worried about not having any sauce, so I started to fry the trout, then mixed in half a tin of chopped tomatoes with the rest of the marinade, and added that to the pan to heat up and be a sauce to go with the fish.

Swimming in a sea of tomatoes (or river?)

Swimming in a sea of tomatoes (or river?)

Ignore the state of the hob – that’s a side effect from the plum jam. I’ll clean it, I promise.

I’m not sure that it actually needed the sauce, but the sauce was tasty.

One thought on “Jamaican spiced trout

Leave a Reply

