Cinnamon buns a la Esther

I’ve been watching The Great British Bake Off. I find it very relaxing. Everyone is kind to each other, and if they have a crisis it’s really only a very minor crisis. The worst thing that can happen is that a tower of biscuits falls over, or someone accidentally uses the wrong custard (if this were The Apprentice they’d be deliberately sabotaging each other’s cooking).

This, in conjunction with an old blog post from Recipe Rifle, has inspired me to make cinnamon buns. They are quite autumnal too! They appear to be something like a Danish pastry or a Chelsea bun. I don’t know why they appeal – I am normally bad at things that involve kneading!

Melt 50g butter into 250ml milk – the recipe says whole milk, but I hope that doesn’t matter. I just did this in the microwave in the mixing bowl to minimise washing up. Add 500g bread flour, a sachet of yeast, 30g sugar (caster sugar apparently but I used granulated because I don’t ever bother to use caster sugar for anything) and a tsp of salt.

Mix to make dough, realise that your milk measurement may have been a bit much, chuck in some more flour. Knead for ages. Put on some country music to encourage vigorous kneading. Knead some more. Look at clock. Realise it hasn’t been that long. Promise to knead for “one more song”. Try not to deliberately pick a short song so you can stop kneading.

Put dough into an oiled bowl, cover with clingfilm, put in a warm place. I don’t have an airing cupboard and the heating is not yet on so I put hot water into a saucepan and put the bow on top of that. Wait for an hour, or until dough has doubled in size.

Roll out into a big rectangle (50cm x 40cm apparently). This is tricky because I have a poorly-designed kitchen with no more than one cupboard-width of workspace in any one place.

Note the tape measure. And the non-squareness

Note the tape measure. And the non-squareness

Spread with 60g buttter and sprinkle with 150g light brown soft sugar (that is a sugar specification that I did listen to), 3 tbsp cinnamon, 75g currants.

Roll up (direction not specified- I went for the one that resulted in the longest sausage). It was a slightly lumpy sausage so I’m going to have some big buns and some small buns. Cut into wheels, put into baking tins, cover and leave for 45 mins. I put the oven on at this point and used the top of the oven as my “warm place”.

This is before the second rise - they did get bigger

This is before the second rise – they did get bigger

Brush tops with melted butter. Bake at 180C – 15 mins uncovered then 15 mins covered – normally I do things covered then uncovered, not sure what difference it makes. I actually forgot to cover them at all and they turned out fine.

Here they are in the tin

Some of the sugar/butter mix from the middle leaked out of the buns and bubbled away on the bottom of my tin. This gave them about 3-4mm of caramelised goodness on the bottom, but also made me think eek, better get them out of the tin before this sets solid to toffee!

They look nice like this

Chuck some water icing on if you want. I did and then they looked less pretty (my drizzling skills are not up to much) but they were tasty. And – SOFT! This definitely counts as a bread success.

Drizzling not great, but icing adds yummyness

Drizzling not great, but icing adds yummyness

 

One thought on “Cinnamon buns a la Esther

  1. Pingback: Pizza “Catherine wheels” | screenfulofwords

Leave a Reply

