Chard dolmas (stuffed chard leaves with rice and mince and yoghurt sauce)

I accidentally acquired some chard at the weekend (swapped for figs, by a little Italian lady who said it was “giant spinach”) s now I have to do something with it.

Day of the Triffids

Day of the Triffids

Here are the leaves, with Jamie as a size reference (I didn’t actually see any useful recipes in this book). I’m going to use the smaller ones. The big ones scare me.

The best idea I can find it to use the chard as a substitute for “grape leaves” in dolmas, those Turkish-ish wrapped-up rice thingys. I found this recipe which actually specifies chard, so I feel quite safe that it’s not an insane idea.

Step 1 – Boil rice. I had brown rice so that’s what I’m using

Step 2 – Blanch leaves. Skipped this as the leaves were floppy anyway.

Step 3 – Remove stalks

Step 4 – Mix cooked rice, cooked onion, uncooked mince, parsley and some spices

Mmm, this looks appetising!

Mmm, this looks appetising!

Step 5 – Roll up

A very large leaf can hold less mixture than you think

A very large leaf can hold less mixture than you think

Step 6 – Put in pan (with stalks making a kind of trivet)

This doesn't look precarious at all...

This doesn’t look precarious at all…

Step 7 – Put other stuff in pan

The  recipe said to put a heatproof plate on top. I recommend "the next lid down" from your set of pans.

The recipe said to put a heatproof plate on top. I recommend “the next lid down” from your set of pans.

Step 8 – Put pan on heat

Step 9 – Eat with yoghurt sauce (fat Greek yoghurt, fresh mint, garlic, salt) and a tomato/cucumber salad

This salad (with parsley) reminded me of a holiday in Turkey

This salad (with parsley) reminded me of a holiday in Turkey

 

Mmmm, creamy

Mmmm, creamy

The verdict: they were okay, but not very exciting. They held together better than I expected, the chard was not unpleasantly bitter, the filling was a little bland. Probably not worth all the faffing around.

I will be making the tomato/cucumber/parsley salad with yoghurt sauce again though.

Dinner!

Dinner!

I had some mixture left over so I fried it up, dolloped it onto little gem leaves, and poured over a little bit of sweet chilli sauce.

Sort of like a starter?

Sort of like a starter?

 

Leave a Reply

