Homemade fig jam

We have a fig tree

This is the small fig tree - the big fig tree was too big to get into shot

This is the small fig tree – the big fig tree was too big to get into shot

I don’t really like figs. This is a shock to many people who looooove figs, and try to convince me that I would like a good fig, and that if I think I don’t like them its only because I have not had a good one.

This is a good fig. It is happy and warm in the sunshine.

This is a good fig. It is happy and warm in the sunshine.

This is the inside of a good fig. It's pink and looks oddly alive.

This is the inside of a good fig. It’s pink and looks oddly alive.

I still don’t like figs very much. I don’t dislike them, I just don’t want to eat them.

But if we don’t do anything with all of these figs then:

  1. All the fig-lovers will be upset
  2. The figs will just go SPLAT in my garden and on the path and look like something had died.

Seriously, the first time I saw a dead fig on the ground (shortly after moving to this house) I thought that a cat had killed a small animal.

So we have been picking figs. This is tricky, as figs clearly are not meant to be picked. They don’t want to come off the tree neatly and in one piece. They want to go SPLAT, or to be picked apart by starlings while still on the tree. When you pull on a fig, the skin tries to come off. All of the figs that have come off the tree nicely, we are giving away to friends and neighbours (sometimes in exchange for other produce). Those that didn’t come off nicely are being turned into jam.

I used this fig jam recipe from Waitrose because it was very simple.

Get figs. Mash figs.

Mashed figs look yucky. You can tell if a fig is not ripe, because it will not mash.

Mashed figs look yucky. You can tell if a fig is not ripe, because it will not mash.

Boil with jam sugar.

Figs boiled with sugar - looks like jam.

Figs boiled with sugar – looks like jam.

Put into clean jars while hot

Jars of jam. Stupid piddly little jars that are hard to get the jam into without getting it everywhere.

Jars of jam. Stupid piddly little jars that are hard to get the jam into without getting it everywhere.

I didn’t properly weigh/measure the figs or sugar, so it’ll be my own fault if the jam doesn’t set, but so far it looks jammy and tastes sweet.

The only problem now is that I don’t really eat jam very much.

One thought on “Homemade fig jam

  1. Pingback: Chard dolmas (stuffed chard leaves with rice and mince and yoghurt sauce) | screenfulofwords

Leave a Reply

