Home-grown produce (spaghetti arrabbiata)

I’ve posted my recipe for spaghetti arrabbiata before as a “student recipe”, so reposting it is really just a chance to show off my tomato-growing skills.

(my cooker top is rather cleaner than usual in this picture...)

(my cooker top is rather cleaner than usual in this picture…)

I sometimes complain about people like Jamie Oliver going on abut exciting heritage tomatoes and four types of carrot. This is not one of those times. This is a time when I use two different kinds of home-grown tomato for no other reason than that they make pretty colours.

When cooked (with salt) it really doesn’t matter hugely if you use supermarket cherry tomatoes. They don’t even need to be the posh ones. It’ll still be tasty. But the different-coloured ones do elevate this from slapped-together student supper to “Oh yes, these are from my garden”.

Yum - more tomatoes to come

Yum – more tomatoes to come

The ones pictures above are sungold – a yellow cherry tomato which grows very tall. The others are “cherriettes of fire”, a red cherry tomato that makes a very small bushy plant that would do we in a pot or even on a windowsill. You have to dig amongst the leaves to find the tomatoes, and despite the name they are not spicy at all.

One more picture from the garden – a very happy bee on my flowering oregano. I have no idea if you are supposed to let oregano flower, but frankly I couldn’t see a way of stopping it. It looks pretty and it makes the bees happy.

How can you tell if a bee is happy...?

How can you tell if a bee is happy…?

One thought on “Home-grown produce (spaghetti arrabbiata)

  1. Pingback: Courgette and halloumi salad with basil dressing | screenfulofwords

Leave a Reply

