Homemade sausage rolls

Last night we were having some friends round to help drink a barrel of homebrew (probably technically not a barrel because it’s not the right size, Google says “1 Imperial beer barrel = 136.274824 litres” and we didn’t have quite that much, but it looks like a barrel) and I thought that the best thing to go with ale would be sausage rolls.

Previously I’ve taken the attitude that at parties people just want some stodge to soak up the booze and gone for the frozen chuck-them-in-the-oven bags of party sausage rolls, which makes a lot of stodge with very little effort. This time the numbers were smaller and so I decided to make a bit more of an effort. I could say that the horsemeat issue sprang to  mind and made me wary of buying cheap frozen meat products, but it’s actually only just occurred to me now.

To make sausage rolls you need:

  • pre-rolled pre-made all butter puff pastry
  • fancy sausages (these are 86% pig, which is pretty good)
  • egg to help stick it together

 

I don't know why the pastry has a picture of a rolling pin on it - the whole point is that you don't need one

I don’t know why the pastry has a picture of a rolling pin on it – the whole point is that you don’t need one

That’s all the instructions and advice that I had. How to assemble and cook these things was up to me.

I got skinny chipolata sausages and squeezed them out of their skins. There’s probably no need to do this but it’s very satisfying.

Mmmm, squeezy

Mmmm, squeezy

I cut the pastry to make strips, laid sausage down the middle and left and edge on both sides to seal it. In retrospect I probably should have considered the “roll” part of sausage roll and done some rolling.

Apparently I got worse at this as I went (going from right to left)

Apparently I got worse at this as I went (going from right to left)

Brush egg on the pasty so it will seal, ideally with a cool rubbery brush – one that comes in lots of colours and is easier to wash than a traditional pastry brush.

Rubbery brush - much better than badger fur or whatever they used to make them out of

Rubbery brush – much better than badger fur or whatever they used to make them out of

Put more pastry on top, crimp the sides for no good reason by pushing down with a flat fork, poke the top with a fork because it looks like the right sort of thing to do.

Bake at 200C for 20 minutes or so until it looks like it’s probably cooked. Take out, turn over discover that the bottom of the pasty is still a bit soggy so turn upside down and bake for a bit more. The shape is already set so you won’t ruin the prettyness.

Golden brown

Golden brown

Cut into as many bits as you like and eat.

Sausage in the middle, lots of pastry at the edge. That's why I should have rolled.

Sausage in the middle, lots of pastry at the edge. That’s why I should have rolled.

Coincidentally Jamie Oliver was on More4 this morning with this 30 minute meals showing a better way to get more sausage and less pastry – the ingredients were pretty much the same but the assembly was different.

2 thoughts on “Homemade sausage rolls

Leave a Reply

