“Cook yourself thin” chicken tikka masala

I have no idea why this is “cook yourself thin” – it doesn’t seem any lower in fat or calories than any other curry that I might make, but it definitely is healthier (and cheaper) than a takeaway. So: healthy and frugal curry, perfect for January when of course everyone in the world is on a diet and skint. (it’s the LAW)

I was inspired to make this for Sunday dinner by Dilly Tante’s post, but as usual I just skimmed the recipe and thought “I can make that”.

OK, so the red comes from colourings, but it's still nice

OK, so the red comes from colourings, but it’s still nice

I didn’t have curry paste, but I did have some “tandoori seasoning” that served the same purpose. 2 chicken breasts chopped up and mixed with yoghurt and the seasoning.

I left this for about 4 hours here but anything between "while you chop the onion"  and "overnight in the fridge" will work

I left this for about 4 hours here but anything between “while you chop the onion” and “overnight in the fridge” will work

Dilly suggested getting some grated carrot into the sauce to add some vegetables but still have the curry be mainly “chunks of meat in sauce”, so I fried some finely chopped onion, grated carrot, garlic and chilli.

Chillis from my plants of course

Chillis from my plants of course

I then took the veg out so that I could fry the chicken properly.

Cook the chicken until it is "dryish"

Cook the chicken until it is “dryish”

Then stick the veg back in with the meat and add passata, coconut milk, and some spices. I threw in some coriander and cumin and paprika and I think it worked out pretty well. Anything featured on the back of the pack of red stuff is probably good.

Bubble bubble toil and trouble

Bubble bubble toil and trouble

I was going to tell you all about coconut milk and how “light” coconut milk is pointless. Check the ingredients. Blue dragon coconut milk: Coconut Extract (56%), Water, Stabiliser: E466, Emulsifier: E471, Antioxidant: E330. Blue dragon light coconut milk: Water, Coconut Extract (25%), Stabiliser: E466, Antioxidant: E330. It’s just half as much coconutty stuff, topped up with water. I was going  to tell you how I was all organised and used half a tin for something the other day and half a tin for this and it was still lovely and creamy. It’s all lies though, because I forgot to shake the tin. So here’s a tip: if using half a tin of normal coconut milk in place of a whole tin of “light” coconut milk, shake the tin. Because if you don’t the other half is not going to be very exciting.

Not as creamy as intended, but still tasty

Not as creamy as intended, but still tasty

This was still pretty tasty though. Brown rice (remember the healthy January-ness).

Leave a Reply

