Insightful thoughts from cracked.com and a film I didn’t enjoy

Reading cracked (as you do, I especially recommend the John Cheese articles) for vaguely funny things, I come across this post: 6 Harsh Truths That Will Make You a Better Person.

Well, it’s the New Year after all, and this was bound to be more interesting than any number of “New Year, New You” articles.

The point that made me think was this: What You Are Inside Only Matters Because of What It Makes You Do

What it made me think of was a film that I watched a number of years ago, but didn’t really enjoy. I was looking for a romcom type thing to watch with my housemates.

 

It has him from Scrubs and her from The OC, it must be light and fluffy.

It wasn’t especially. It was a bit depressing. (you’ll say I should have known from JD’s expression, but his face is often like that)

This was a while ago, and it wasn’t a particularly impressing-upon-your-memory sort of film, so I don’t remember many details.

I do remember one quote though, from the father of the woman on the right in the poster (our right, not their right).

Stop talking about love. Every asshole in the world says he loves somebody. It means nothing. It still doesn’t mean anything. What you feel only matters to you. It’s what you do to the people you say you love, that’s what matters. It’s the only thing that counts.

I took that from IMDB, I didn’t write it from memory or anything, but I do remember its essence and I like it a lot.

One thought on “Insightful thoughts from cracked.com and a film I didn’t enjoy

Leave a Reply

