Jamie’s 15 minute meals – more than 15 minutes but less washing up

As you may have guessed, I’m not very good at following recipes. I tend to improvise because I think I know better.

Reasons for not following a recipe to the letter might include:

  • I don’t have an ingredient
  • I don’t like the sound of an ingredient
  • I have a different ingredient that I need to use up

With Jamie Oliver, especially when he is doing his “X minute meals”, there is another good reason:

  • I don’t want to use ALL of the equipment in the kitchen

Blitzing everything in the food processor is quicker than chopping, yes, and having everything on the go in three pans is quicker than adding things one at a time, but I am not convinced that it is worth it.

Today I am making a variant of Jamie’s gorgeous greek chicken, herby vegetable couscous & tzatziki. That’s what he calls it anyway. The gorgeousness is as yet debatable, although some might say that if I don’t follow every little instruction then it’s my fault if it is not gorgeous.

Here’s a list of things that are going to be different:

  • Couscous – I have bulgar wheat instead. It’s pretty similar
  • Food processor – no. I will chop my veg into chunks and stick it in the oven for a little bit with some oil to roast – that will be tastier than just shredding it and I won’t have to wash up the machine
  • I’m changing the veg around a bit based on what I have in the house and what needs using up
  • I’m skipping the feta, because I don’t have any (and I don’t think it needs it)

That looks nicer than shredded veg

This is a rubbish picture but you get the idea – tasty yoghurty goodness (important when I quadrupled the amount of chilli – Jamie said one chilli for 4 people – I did 2 chillis for 2 people)

Here’s the chicken in the pan

I cooked the bulgur wheat by measuring out the right weight (120g for 2 of us) in a jog, then using the measurements on the side of the jug to add 2x the volume of water. I blasted it in the microwave a couple of times to get it to soak up the water, then stirred it in with the roasted veg to soak up some of the juices and tastyness.

And here’s the whole lot together. It took more than 15 minutes but I was just drinking wine for a good bit of that, and nobody has to wash up the food processor!

2 thoughts on “Jamie’s 15 minute meals – more than 15 minutes but less washing up

  1. Pingback: Jamie’s 15 minute meals – Chilli con meatballs | screenfulofwords

Leave a Reply

