I love my slowcooker – ham and beans

I was going to make a Jamie Oliver 15 minute meal today and tell you how it went.

But then I went to Co-op to get bread, milk, etc and they had gammon joints on special offer.

And when I came home I saw this post from Jen’s Place on having done ham in the slow cooker and made special baked beans to go with it.

Looks good, huh?

So my ham is in the slow cooker and I’ll be making beans to go with it. I don’t have all of the ingredients listed so I guess mine will be “inspired by” rather than actually “doing” the recipe.

The ham recipe is simple – put soft brown sugar in the bottom of your slow cooker, put the ham joint on top, put more sugar on, turn on slow cooker. Wait.

Since I’m planning on eating it tonight I put my ham on high, and I’ll be making the beans in a pan on the hob, because I can’t waitย another 8 hours for the beans!

(yes I know I could do it tomorrow and amuse you all with my attempts at the Jamie Oliver recipe tonight, but I want ham!)

Ham! (put sugar in slow cooker, put gammon joint on top, put more sugar on top, cook, turn a couple of times if you are nearby)

Beans! (Black-eyed beans, juice from the ham, red onion, some cherry tomatoes that needed using up, slug of passata, sprinkle of smoked paprika)

Courgette fritters! (not sure where that idea came from – Grated courgette with egg to hold it together)

Tah-dah! (the beans are steaming)

8 thoughts on “I love my slowcooker – ham and beans

  1. Pingback: Tomato soup and more “no knead” bread | screenfulofwords

  2. Pingback: I love my slow cooker – slow cooker soda bread | screenfulofwords

Leave a Reply

