“How to be a blogger”

If you’re asking the question I guess you want to know “how to blog and have people actually read it”, because the whole “how to blog” thing is pretty easy by itself. You just go on the internet, find a convenient place, and write stuff, like I am doing now. So here are some tips from people who write words and then those words turn up on people’s screens and go in through their eyes and wiggle about in their brains, like a less-disgusting-more-informative brain-worm.

In The Times (paywall, I know). From the lovely Esther Walker.

I won’t reproduce the whole thing here because that’s naughty, sorry. But I do want to comment on the “Golden Rules” – golden rules that I suspect, just like all other golden rules, have been made up pretty much on the spot. That doesn’t mean they’re not good rules though.

1. Don’t be lazy

Oh dear, a failure at the first hurdle, I am often lazy and updates are sporadic. But hey, reading the “don’t be lazy” commandment made me be less lazy, so that’s a start.

2. Use pictures

Yep. Almost always. Apart from in this one. Maybe I’d better fix that.

3. Keep it short

OK

4. Consider your audience

Since my audience is sometimes the Mumsnet Bloggers Network, sometimes feministy type people from Twitter, sometimes people from my work think I’m funny (not sure if it’s in a laughing-at or laughing-with kind of way, but they do think I’m funny), and sometimes people who google “lufthansa bra plan”, I’m not sure how I can consider them as a group. But I’ll try not to piss them off. Or not all of them anyway.

5. Drive traffic

Somehow it feels like I’m being annoying or boasting when I ask people to read my blog. Who am I to tell you what to read? Anyway, do I do the things Esther says? Comment on other blogs – yes, although I normally make my name be a linky rather than saying “READ MY BLOG!” at the end of a comment. Putting famous names or easily-searchable things in titles – no, but I may start. Twittering – yep, definitely do that.

So, how am I doing? I don’t think I qualify as “person who is a blogger”, but that’s OK. “Person who has a blog and sometimes writes stuff on it” will do for now.

Oh, and that “use pictures” instruction? Look at this!

Alot of cake

Someone at work found this and thought I’d like it. It’s “Alot of cake”

If you don’t know what I’m on about check out Hyperbole and a Half.

For more tips from someone who knows how to do it, check out A Blogger’s Guide to Blogging from Lynn Schreiber, who I believe has also recently written a book.

Leave a Reply

