Jane Austen’s birthday

I’ve heard that today is Jane Austen’s birthday – she’d be 236 today!

So in honour I’d like to link to Mme Guillotine’s blog of hottest Austen heroes, and also suggest a re-reading of Pride and Prejudice.

This is a man with a good voice

I know this is Sense and Sensibility, but I like Alan Rickman more than I like Colin Firth and it's my blog so I can show this picture if I like

Specifically, I’d suggest that you re-read Pride and Prejudice in conjunction with the rather entertaining Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.

Must be in want of brains

Pretty creepy, huh?

Ideally you need a kindle (for ease of carrying books around), or at the very least two bookmarks. I have come to the conclusion that all parodies, reworkings, whatevers, work best if you have recently seen the original. Robin Hood: Men In Tights come to mind – much better if you have recently seen Robin Hood; Prince of Thieves

who loves the sheriff?

Sheriff of Rottingham

.P&P&Z is definitely best read alongside P&P(original).

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brain must be in want of more brains.

OK, so everyone rips off the “truth universally acknowledged” bit.

I could easily forgive his pride, if he had not mortified mine. I dare say I would’ve cut his throat had not the unmentionables distracted me from doing so.

Is that a bit more obscure? It is for certain that Elizabeth’s walking 3 miles in the mud (petticoats six inches deep in mud) is an even more shocking achievement when zombies are at large.

Leave a Reply

