I don’t care whether the Church of England allows women to be bishops…

… but I don’t think they should get seats in the House of Lords if they don’t.

Actually neither of those statements is completely true.

I do care a little when big organisations are sexist, even when I am not involved with them. I suppose what I mean to say is that if a religion says that their god says that women and men must behave in different ways or have different opportunities then that’s the business of the members of that religion, not my business.

And, truth be told, I don’t think that any religion should get special treatment by the government and special powers in law.

But I ESPECIALLY think that an organisation that has sexism written into its core should not get this special treatment or any special powers.

If you agree that a church that will not admit women as bishops is a church that should not get seats in the House of Lords, there’s a petition here. Please take a look, and sign if you agree with what it says. One of the great things about the internet is that it easily allows people to have their say without too much hassle. As with all of these e-petitions on the official government site, if it gets 100,000 signatures it will be considered for debate in the House of Commons. Only considered, but that’s better than nothing.

Leave a Reply

